Direct access to content


French version


Version anglaise > Members of consortium

Learning, International

Wroclaw University

University of Wroclaw has been established in 1505. In the second half of the nineteenth century the university was developing very dynamically and many institutes, departments, clinics, and laboratories were established. At present Wroc³aw University has 8 faculties: of Philology, Historical and Pedagogical Sciences, Social Sciences, Law and Administration, Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics and Astronomy, and Chemistry. There are also 7 educational and research departments outside the structure of the faculties and 4 interfaculty departments. Some academic facilities are accessible to the public, for example the Botanical Garden, Museum of Natural History, Museum of Mineralogy and Museum of Geology. The University carries out teaching and research activities in all main academic fields. There are over 41 000 students. The number of professors and research staff is over 1 600. The University collaborates with many foreign research and academic institutions.

Chemistry at the University of Wrocaw
Faculty of Chemistry in Figures
Staff  (January 2005): 41 professors, 110 Assistent professors or lecturers, 64 technicians and administration staff, 83 PhD students, 1430 undergraduate students.
The Faculty of Chemistry provides the framework for chemistry research and teaching at the University of Wrocaw. The Faculty's research interests include:

  • Structural chemistry
  •  Chemistry and dynamics of coordination compounds
  • Chemistry and physics of transition metals
  • Intermolecular interactions
  • Kinetics, catalysis and reaction mechisms
  • Biochemistry and molecular biophysics
  • Electrochemistry
  • Chemical electronics

Steadily increasing number of research topics is related to applied chemistry. The research is carried out in 21 research groups, equipped with specialized research facilities. Routine research facilities are provided by the Central Laboratories of the Faculty, which include:

    • Elemental Analysis
    • IR and FTIR Spectroscopy
    • NMR Spectroscopy
    • ICP Spectroscopy
    • Thermal Analysis
    • Mass Spectrometry
    • X-Ray Crystallography
    • NQR Spectroscopy
    • EPR Spectroscopy
    • Magnetochemistry
    • Electrochemistry
    • Raman Spectroscop

Numerous instruments are equipped with on-line computers. A computer network operates in the Faculty.


  • Bioinorganic chemistry
  • Bioorganic chemistry
  • Spectroscopic techniques
  • Application of electron spectroscopy in studies on the structure of lanthanide compounds and materials 
  • Computer design methods of new materials on biological importance and others
  • Molecular interactions
  • Photoinduced electron transfer 
  • Molecular magnetism
  • Protein chemistry
  • Fluorescence techniques, image analysis
  • Fundamentals of molecular spectroscopy

Logo University Wroclaw (partenaire du master Monabiphot)


Erasmus Mundus contact persons:
Prof. Jerzy HAWRANEK
Tel: +48 71 375 72 04

General contact and address
Faculty Secretariate : Wieslawa Kania,
14, F . Joliot-Curie, room 205 
50-383 Wroclaw, Poland 
 phone (+48)(71)3757-257 ; fax (+48)(71)3282-348 
 e-mail :

International Office
Vice Rector for Scientific Research and Foreign Relations:
Professor Krzysztof Nawotka, Ph. D.
50-137 W-w, pl. Uniwersytecki 1
tel. 3752-270, 34-473-66

Vice Rector for Student Affairs
Professor Teresa o-Nowak, Ph. D.
50-137 W-w, pl. Uniwersytecki 1
tel. 3752-820, fax: 34-340-00